Please check out this PowerPoint presentation: http://www.postinstitute.com/PostU/webinar.pdf

The Power of Oxytocin: Discover the Breakthrough Hormone Essential for a Happy Home and Relationship by  Bryan Post with Helene Timpone, LCSW

slides #9 on “The Stress Model” and #10 on “Oxytocin Rich Parenting vs. Oxytocin Poor Parenting” are principles I visualize daily in my interactions with people, especially the little ones.

The first time I saw slide #10 at a “Beyond Consequences” training, it was tiled as a continuum from love-based to fear-based parenting.  Up to that point, I thought I was practicing positive, loving parenting yet shocked to learn I had so much room to grow. Now considering the traditional parenting styles I was more positive, yet I discovered that I was getting triggered into fear-based reactions,  emitting negative energy that was adding more stress to my son (and me), as well as trying to control him and inevitable circumstances.

Click following link to read more about my ramblings on the illusion of control…

https://compassiondw.wordpress.com/2010/12/28/your-children-are-not-yours-to-control/

