Click link for the text to speech: via Valedictorian Speaks Out Against Schooling in Graduation Speech by Erica Goldson.

Wow, I am blow away by her courage to say this in front of so many. She highlights more reasons why I choose to “unschool” my children. Schools have tons of value. I know their hearts are in the right place and intentions are good but their traditional approach is misguided and unbalanced as well as down right neglectful regarding emotional and relational intelligence. To me, schools are like factories that tailor to one type of person. Yes, we need this type of person, but do we need 4 million of them? I think there are many options that mutually inclusive and beneficial.

It is ironic a friend posted this on a social media network today. I needed my core values revitalized and my feelings expressed via a neutral party. I still run into moments where I feel the force to push my son to understand or work harder on a so-called subject or goal. When I step back and listen to his feelings and words, I always find a more peaceful and loving approach that motivates his inner spirits. It is so scary to let go of how we think it should be. Egos and chemical reactions keep colliding and sabotaging. Deep Breaths. I get to try again, and again, and again.

