http://teacher.scholastic.com/professional/bruceperry/soundsbecomewords.htm

I have never hit my son yet he is terrified of upsetting me. All it takes is a look or an over-exaggerated sigh, and he is hiding. He suffers from low-self esteem (as do I) even though I work so hard to verbally acknowledge his strengths.  You could say 10 compliments, but the one complaint still burns. You could have 100 people cheering for you, but a simple frown on a loved one’s face yells louder than anything else. 

I am becoming more aware of my facial expressions, my body language and negative reactions. It all makes sense. As I become more accepting and gentle of myself, my body begins to relax and my reactions freeze. I give myself more time to respond appropriately with love and guidance: my Son, my Soul, always shine brighter.

